In this simple article, you will learn how to pay New Jersey surcharge (NJSurchage) bills online using the official website. You will get a New Jersey traffic ticket when you violate traffic rules. If you drive properly and have points on your driving record then you have to pay additional fines. This fine is called the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System.
If you got New Jersey Surcharge Violation then here is how you can pay NJSurchage bills online. You can also use credit cards and online payments for NJ DMV surcharge online payment. If you want to pay for your NJMCDirect fine then go and checkout our old articles.
How to Pay NJ Surcharge Online?
You can easily make an online payment for your New Jersey Surcharge Violation. Here is a step-by-step guide.
First, open the official website of the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System which is njsurchage.com.
Here you can find your Surcharge record.
You can easily make a payment using your Credit or Debit Cards. NJsurchage supports all major debit and credit cards.
You can also use the (844) 424-6829 toll-free number to make an online payment.
To make NJsurchage payment, you will need a Driver’s License Number, Notice Number, Surcharge Number, or a Surcharge Number.
Select any of the above options on the website and then enter the respective number and your date of birth date.
Find your surcharge record and click Submit.
Also Read: Pay NJ Parking Ticket Online
You can also pay your surcharge by phone. The service is free and is available to all residents of the state. All you need to do is call the NJMVS to make your payment. You will be asked for personal information, including your debit card information, and the amount of the surcharge you want to pay. You will be billed annually, for up to three years. You can find out if you owe the surcharge online, in person, or in the mail.
How NJ Surcharge is Calculated?
NJ Surcharge fine is taken for the following things:
- Driving While Intoxicated(DWI)
- Points violation
- Lacking a liability insurance
- Suspended and still driving
- Driving unlicensed
You might have received a notice from the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System, which assesses fines for specific traffic offences and excessive traffic violations. These fines are assessed annually for three years and vary depending on the nature of the violation. If you have 12 points or more on your driving record, your license may be suspended. To avoid getting a surcharge, pay your fine as soon as possible.
The Motor Vehicle Commission collects surcharges from motorists. This is on top of any court fines or insurance premiums. This charge applies to all drivers, regardless of the type of insurance or license they have. If you’re convicted of a surcharge violation, you’ll be required to pay at least $150, and each additional point will cost an additional $25. You can choose to make payments to New Jersey via a debit card, credit card, or electronic check.
How to Appeal for MV Suspension in NJ Court?
If you feel that your New Jersey Surcharge Violation fine is wrong then you want to appeal for MV suspension then here is a guide.
First, manage your License Suspension Letter. Check the date of your license suspension.
Request a hearing
Make arguments to your suspension.
Attend the appeal hearing: Go to the NJ MVC regional office and attend the hearing. There will be some questions and answers about your counter-arguments.
Depending on your facts, NJ MVC takes action on your NJ Surcharge fine.
More about New Jersey Surcharge
If you have been in a car accident, you might have heard about the New Jersey Surcharge. This is a mandatory payment you must make to the Department of Motor Vehicles for any moving violation in New Jersey. In most cases, the fine will be between two and three times the amount of the surcharge. You can pay the NJ surcharge online or in person. Fortunately, you can find a site that lets you pay the surcharge online and skip the long lines.
New Jersey surcharge violations can add up to hundreds of dollars to your insurance premiums. In addition to court fines, they can also affect your insurance premiums. Fortunately, a driver can reduce the number of points that they incur by taking a defensive driving course or driver training course. Nevertheless, if you don’t pay your surcharge on time, you could be severely penalized. Upon receiving a notice, the NJ MVC will file a Certificate of Debit, or judgment, requiring that you pay your surcharge.